Jan 31, 2009

Action Alert: Labor Committee Will Hear Pro-Life Bills Next Week


The House Labor Committee will hold a hearing next Wednesday on two pro-life bills related to abortion. The bills require allowing a pregnant woman to see an ultrasound of her unborn baby prior to an abortion and require the state health department to keep better records of the abortions done in Wyoming.

HB 151 - Ultrasound Requirement for Abortions, Rep. Bob Brechtel
This is an informed consent bill that requires an abortion practitioner to show a woman considering an abortion a photo of the ultrasound and describe it to her when he does so. When used in pregnancy centers, ultrasounds convince about 85 percent of women to keep their baby and not have an abortion. The bill does NOT require women to hear or see the ultrasound but merely gives them the option. Research shows about 99 percent of abortion practitioners do use ultrasound to determine the age of the unborn child at the time of the abortion.

HB 154 - Abortion Reporting Requirements, Rep Bob Brechtel
Wyoming is one of the few states in the nation to not compile abortion statistics annually and provide a compendium of the facts and figures to the legislature or the public. While other states make the information available and easy to see the latest trends and how we as a society can reduce abortions, we don’t have that benefit here. This bill does NOT require any personal identifying information be made public.

ACTION: Please immediately email the following members of the committee and urge them to support these pro-life bills (see below for more details). Email the legislators or call them at 307-777-7852 to leave a message and ask them to support the bill. ALL members of the committee need to hear from you before Wednesday!

Rep. Jack Landon (Sheridan) -
jlandon@wyoming.com
Rep. Dave Bonner (Powell) -
dbonner@wyoming.com
Rep. Ken Esquibel (Cheyenne) -
kesquibel@wyoming.com
Rep. Elaine Harvey (Lovell) -
harvey00@tctwest.net
Rep. Lisa Shepperson (Casper) -
lshepperson@wyoming.com
Rep. Timothy Hallinan (Gillette) -
tphallinan@bresnan.net
Rep. Patrick Goggles (Ethete) -
pgoggles@wyoming.com
Rep. Lori Millin (Cheyenne) -
lorimillin@bresnan.net
Rep. Kathy Davison (Kemmerer) -
kdavison@wyoming.com

* Please forward this urgent pro-life legislative alert to every pro-life Wyoming person you know and ask them to help!

 
  Reactions:

comments

0 Responses to "Action Alert: Labor Committee Will Hear Pro-Life Bills Next Week"

Post a Comment

 

Copyright 2009 All Rights Reserved Revolution Two Church theme by Brian Gardner | Blogger template converted & enhanced by eBlog Templates